Sunday, April 14, 2013

A Chronology of Treaty Negotiations in Canada with emphasis in British Columbia

1763 - Royal Proclamation passed by King George III recognizes patriarchal people as nations or tribes and acknowledges that they continue to possess handed-down territories until they are ceded or purchased by the Crown (Ministry of old Affairs).

1870 - Joseph Trutch, as Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works, writes memorandum denying the existence of prime title (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1871 - The Colony of British capital of South Carolina becomes a province deep down the Canadian Confederation. British Columbia is the sixth province to assemble the Dominion of Canada. The Terms of Union between British Columbia and Canada states that the federal government will assume responsibility for Indians and British Columbia will retain authority over realm and resources. Joseph Trutch is appointed as the provinces first Lieutenant Governor (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1876 - Indian Act is established. The Act focused on terce main areas: Land, Membership, and Local Government. It consolidates all previous Indian enactment; defines Indian status; and gives the Superintendent General administrative powers of Indian affairs (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1881 - Chief Mountain leads a Nisgaa withstand delegation to Victoria (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1884 - The Indian Act is revise to outlaw cultural and religious ceremonies such as the potlatch, which is the major social, economic and political institution of the coastal peoples (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

Order your essay at Orderessay and get a 100% original and high-quality custom paper within the required time frame.

1886 - Nisgaa in the Upper Nass resist surveyors and begin organized pursuit of disembark claims (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1887 - Nisgaa chiefs traveled to Victoria to demand recognition of title, dialogue of treaties and provision for self-government but they were turned away (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1890 - The Nisgaa established their first Land Committee to begin the weightlift for recognition of territorial rights (Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs).

1909 - The Nisgaa Land Committee arranges with otherwise north...

If you want to get a full essay, order it on our website: Orderessay

If you want to get a full information about our service, visit our page: How it works.

No comments:

Post a Comment